A division of Libraries and Academic Innovation

Gelman Hours for GWorld Holders Complete Hours Info
12pm – 6pm
12pm – 6pm
12pm – 8pm
12pm – 8pm
12pm – 8pm
12pm – 8pm
Gelman 12pm – 6pm

Access to the Gelman and VSTC Library buildings is available only to residential students and to GW students, faculty, and staff who have special permission to be on campus (the on-campus cohort) and a quarantine status of "cleared." Those who are not part of the on-campus cohort will not have physical access to campus buildings. Seat reservations are required. 

Timeline of the NEA part 1

1909 Seal of the National Education Association

  1. 1857

    In Philadelphia, one hundred educators meet to form a national body. Its mission is “to elevate the character and advance the interest of the profession of teaching, and to promote the cause of popular education in the United States.” It is named the National Teachers Association (NTA).

  2. 1866

    Women are formally admitted to full membership in the NTA, after full participation from the beginning.

  3. 1870

    The NTA is renamed the National Education Association.

  4. 1886

    NEA is incorporated in Washington, D.C.

  5. 1896

    Booker T. Washington addresses the NEA convention. He speaks of the economic and social progress made in those states that invested the most in higher education.

  6. 1904

    National Association of Colored Teachers is formed; it will be renamed twice, and in 1966 will merge with the NEA as the American Teachers Association.

  7. 1906

    NEA is chartered by an Act of Congress.

  8. 1910

    Ella Flagg Young is elected NEA president. She is the first woman to hold this office. The NEA will shortly endorse women’s suffrage and pass a resolution supporting equal pay for equal work and “political equality of the sexes.”


This page is maintained by SCRC • (202) 994-7549
Mobile | Desktop